Skip to main content

This is your Donation message.

Recap: 34th Annual Graduate Symposium

Published October 7, 2016


Congratulations to all who participated in our 34th Annual Graduate Symposium on October 7th & 8th, 2016.  Graduate students from eight universities joined FSU students and faculty and our visiting scholar for presentation and discussion of their research. The twelve participating students presented 20-minute papers, each followed by critical discussion with students and faculty. The annual Symposium keynote address is delivered by a visiting scholar as part of the Thursby Distinguished Scholars Lecture Series. This year the department was pleased to host  Barbara E. Mundy, Professor of Art History at Fordham University. Professor Mundy presented “The Book Looks Back: Living Paper, Breathing Color and Animate Material in the New World” on Friday evening, October 7th, to a full house in room 2005 WJB.

Special congratulations go to Gilles Heno-Coe, who won this year’s Günther Stamm prize for originality and presentation for his paper “The Mind of the Matter: Jasper Johns’s Drawings in Ink on Plastic”  For a complete list of this year’s talks, see the short program.

2016 Symposium Participants

Kylie Fisher, Case Western Reserve University
J.E. Peyton Gardner, Savannah College of Art and Design
Gabriela Germaná, Florida State University
Shane Harless, Tulane University
Gilles Heno-Coe, University of Texas, Austin
Rachel Hiser, University of North Texas
Ashley Lindeman, Florida State University
C.C. Marsh, University of Texas, Austin
Evan McAllister, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee
Joseph Ramsey, Tulane University
Mallory Ruymann, Tufts University
Hayley Woodward, Tulane University


The Symposium is hosted annually by the FSU Art History graduate students and faculty and managed by the Symposium Coordinator, Prof. Doron Bauer, with the assistance of the graduate Art History Association officers.  This year’s officers, who also served as session chairs, are Jane Hamel, Stephanie Shaw, and Melissa Maichele.

Papers presented at the Symposium are considered for publication in Athanor, an internationally distributed periodical published annually by the FSU Museum of Fine Arts Press under the editorial direction of Allys Palladino-Craig, Director of the Museum of Fine Arts.  Athanor is distributed to more than 300 departments and libraries. To have your institution included on the distribution list or to request a copy of an issue or article, please contact the Museum of Fine Arts Communications Coordinator.   The Table of Contents of every issue is available here: ToC, Athanor I – XXXIII.

Athanor Logo Rounded-Press Outlines