Skip to main content

This is your Donation message.

Home » News » 2012 Awards & Graduates

2012 Awards & Graduates

Published February 14, 2012

Congratulations to eight new Art History MAs who graduated from Florida State University this Spring.  At this year’s awards ceremony on April 16, the College of Visual Arts, Theatre & Dance honored 27 graduate and 20 undergraduate students for art history fellowships, awards and achievements in the 2011-12 year.

Undergraduate awards:

Art History majors nominated to Phi Beta Kappa:

  • Katherine T. Aune
  • Deanna L. Belch
  • Masha Ciampittiello
  • Mary E. Dolmovich
  • Rima S. Garsys
  • Ian Lapidus
  • Deneque R. Lee
  • Caitlin A. Mingo
  • Leticia Mora
  • Caitlin Play
  • Rebecca Sheppard
  • Margaret Stern
  • Mary Vretas
  • Bethany K. Walters.

Recipients of the Helen J. Beard Undergraduate Scholarship for Excellence in the Major:

  • Melissa Arrant
  • Kimberly Chewning
  • Samantha Degennaro
  • Elia Trucks
  • Margaret Stern
  • Krystle Stricklin.


Departmental and University Graduate awards:

PhD in Art History with Distinction: Jennifer Feltman.

Helen J. Beard Conference Travel Award: Sarah Andyshak, Jennifer Feltman, and Brad Hostetler.

Helen J. Beard Thesis Research and Travel Award: Christina Glover, Ann-Marie Adrian, and Leah Sherman.

Friends of Art History Fellowship: Carey Fee, Karlyn Griffith, and Morgan McCormick.

Penelope Mason Dissertation Research and Travel Award:  Diantha Steinhilper.

Patricia Rose Teaching Fellowship:  Carolina Alarcon, Stephanie Bender, Deirdre Carter, Heather Lundy, Nicole Mahan, Kati McCampbell, and Christopher Timm.

Winbury Award for Best Graduate Student Paper:  MA:  Abigale Upshaw.  PhD: Christopher Timm.

FSU Graduate School Dissertation Research Grant:  Brad Hostetler.

PIE Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award: Deirdre Carter.


National Graduate Awards:

Institute for Historical Research Mellon Pre-Dissertation Fellowship: Karlyn Griffith

Foreign Language and Area Study Fellowships: Heather Lundy and Bryan Schaeffer.

Medieval Association of the Pacific, Founders’ Prize (2nd Place): Jennifer Feltman.